Recent Searches
Clear

Bonaventure Cemetery Tours

|
Badge of Excellence
|
Thunderbolt, United States
Bonaventure Cemetery Tours

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Youths1 Youth2 Youths3 Youths4 Youths5 Youths6 Youths7 Youths8 Youths9 Youths10 Youths11 Youths12 Youths13 Youths14 Youths15 Youths
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon2 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

Experience the haunting beauty and historic folklore of stunning Savannah on this Bonaventure Cemetery tour. Follow your expert guide just beyond the limits of the historic district and join a master storyteller as you wander through the tombstones and gardens of this top attraction. Learn why Bonaventure Cemetery is considered by locals to be the place where death and beauty meet. 
  • Guided Bonaventure Cemetery tour in Savannah
  • Learn about history and local folklore from a master storyteller
  • Get an up close look at one of Savannah's top attractions
  • Ideal for history lovers
Saved to wishlist!
Professional art historian guide
Professional guide
Gratuities
415 Bonaventure Rd , 415 Bonaventure Rd, Thunderbolt, GA 31404, USA

Guests meet at our Bonaventure Cemetery Tours® Welcome Center & Gift Shop about a half-block from the entrance of the Cemetery. Do Not go directly to Cemetery. We have parking available for our guests, as well as private restrooms. Plan to arrive 15 minutes prior to tour time. Service Animals ONLY.

This activity will end right where it started.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • Umbrellas and Rain Ponchos available upon request
  • Walking cane/sport seating is available upon request
  • Wheelchair accessible - some sand and gravel
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 30 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Jones Street Productions Inc
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Bonaventure Cemetery Tours?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
See all safety measures taken by Bonaventure Cemetery Tours.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Bonaventure Cemetery Tours?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
See all safety measures taken by Bonaventure Cemetery Tours.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Reviews

5.0
star-5
581 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 581 reviews
star-5
Don’t miss
Robin_C
, Jun 2022
Amazing tour with Deb - she was informative, entertaining, and really sweet. Wear comfortable shoes and bug spray!
star-5
Hot time in Savannah
scmouse1
, Jun 2022
Engaging narrative and informative about cemeteries and Savannah history. Easy going, the tour flew by before we knew it!
star-3
Little History Regarding Families
deb_h
, Jun 2022
We learned about the symbols on the plots. We knew some already. We didn’t learn the History of the people buried there, no stories related to the families-except the Mercer plot, and that was so the guide could sing Bc she and a relative buried there used to be in chorus together. Very disappointed-we went for history and family stories-who were the people, what roles did they play? Personal promotion wasn’t appropriate.
star-5
My family decided not to...
SoiIan_L
, Jun 2022
My family decided not to partake in the tour, and I decided to go solo. I'm glad I did. I didn't know much about the cemetery before the tour, but with the tour guide, Steven, I was well informed about the various gravestones & the cemetery afterwards. When I returned home, I informed others about the tour, and it sparked their interest in going too. A friendly note to bring ample bug spray.
star-5
Great experience!
Ralph_M
, Jun 2022
Richard added so much to our understanding of the symbolism, history and lives of those buried there. He was an excellent guide.
star-5
Excellent, worthwhile tour!
Abigail_B
, Jun 2022
Our guide, Chris, was a great storyteller and infused a little comedy. He was full of knowledge on the cemetery history and folklore.
star-5
History of Bonaventure Cemetary
Ronald_W
, Jun 2022
Dawn Martin, the tour guide, did an outstanding job of explaining the history of many of the families buried in Bonaventure Cemetary. The tour was definitely worth the time and money.
star-5
Great experience!
Susan_M
, Jun 2022
The history behind the graveyard and symbols involved in the markers was fascinating. Our guide Steve was great in keeping our interest.
star-4
Beautiful and Mystical
Regina_C
, Jun 2022
Tour guide Dawn was very good. Couldn't help that it started to pour rain and we all decided to leave the tour as many were soaked. The cemetery is beautiful and mystical.
star-2
Too hot, too long. Really...
Luann_N
, May 2022
Too hot, too long. Really only enjoyed it for about 45 minutes, then ready to quit. Disappointed that cemetery wasn’t better manicured. Expected more flowers too
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hi Luann, I'm really disappointed that you didn't fully enjoy the tour experience we provide. Agreed, we have had some really hot days already this season, and we do our best to provide complimentary hand fans for our guests and cold drinks are for sale prior to the tour. Umbrellas are also helpful in keeping the sun off when we are unable to keep you in the shade due to prior year's hurricanes thinning the beautiful canopy of trees. So, between Mother Nature and the groundskeepers, we would have to disagree with the manicure :) Also, some plots are not allowed to be trimmed, depending on the family. For flowers, March and April and really the show-stopper months with the azaleas, as with anywhere, you just have to catch the right season. I really hope you reconsider the rating given us, as you are grading our tour based on things beyond our control. I do hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Savannah and that we see you again soon on one of our many adventures.
star-5
Walking thru history
Mary_H
, May 2022
Richard did a wonderful job. He was knowledgeable and interesting. A pleasant way to spend an afternoon.
star-4
Worth doing g!
ToniLindsey_N
, Apr 2022
Started a bot slow, then became very interesting full of fun facts and information. At the end of our tour we were very happy with our guide and all that we learned.
star-5
Wonderful experience.
Vincent_C
, Apr 2022
The guide was excellent, the stories terrific. The sights were amazing. We enjoyed it greatly. The tour was completed in an expedient fashion.
star-3
Good and bad
Kimberly_S
, Apr 2022
Some of the amazing head stones and what some of the designs mean. But, would have loved to seen more headstones about other people instead of writers.
star-4
Death march through the cemetery
Artemis_S
, Apr 2022
Our tour guide did a great job! The stories were our favorite part. 90 minutes would have been enough time in the heat and humidity. 90 minutes from leaving the gift shop to arriving back at the gift shop. We had a bus to catch and missed it by 5 or 10 minutes. One couple dropped out and people were getting tired in the humidity.
star-3
Cxxxx
Susan_M
, Apr 2022
Not enough history Guide was nice but not particularly knowledgeable Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx Cxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxccc Cccvvvvbbhfftjkjgffcv
star-5
Tour
Sharona_S
, Apr 2022
Chris was great. Very interesting tour w great info! I would recommend this tour But be mindful of weather. It can get very hot I. Summer months and there’s a lot of walking
star-5
Great!
Jason_B
, Apr 2022
The tour guide was very knowledgeable and answered whatever questions we had. We especially loved his personal connection to the cemetery.
star-5
Great time in Bonaventure
Rhoda_B
, Apr 2022
Richard did such a great job telling the stories of the cemetery. We really enjoyed the info regarding the history as well as the plant life of the area.
star-5
Dawn is extremely...
Pamela_J
, Apr 2022
Dawn is extremely knowledgeable and proud of her southern roots. She is an excellent story teller - I bet her ghost tours would spook anyone!

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Bonaventure Cemetery Tours
Bonaventure Cemetery Tours

star-5581

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$30.00

star-4.550

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$24.99

star-5166

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$59.00

star-5669

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$25.65

star-5566

2 hours 45 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$30.00

star-556

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$75.00

star-5203

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$20.00

star-574

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$29.75

star-5136

2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$56.42
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations